Welcome to the Prince Edward Island Regiment Museum, “our house of treasures and place of remembrance”.
Discover the numerous artefacts and photographs that portray the various stories of prince Edward Islanders who participated, fought, and died in many of the battles and conflicts over the past two centuries throughout the world.
The Prince Edward Island Regiment Museum had its origins as a small historical collection of photographs, trophies, and other artefacts scattered throughout the Queen Charlotte Armoury, the regimental home of The Prince Edward Island Regiment (RCAC).
When this collection was consolidated into one location and the Museum opened its doors for the first time on June 23, 1990, it fit into one small room, that has, over time, expanded into approximately 1,270 square feet of exhibition space that houses many artefacts, some dating as far back as 1807. What began as a small collection of artefacts that illustrated the history of The Prince Edward Island Regiment has developed and grown into a wide variety of exhibits that display, present, and interpret the history of other aspects of Prince Edward Island’s military past, including the Royal Canadian Navy, Royal Canadian Air Force, the Royal Canadian Army Cadets, Nursing Sisters, and Medical Corps to name a few.
The Prince Edward Island Regiment Museum has the distinction of being:
- The only official Canadian Armed Forces military museum on Prince Edward Island. It was formally accredited by the Department of National Defence, Directorate of History and Heritage (DHH) in 1992.
- The only museum in the City of Charlottetown
- Classified as a “superior” museum, the highest category of museum classifications as rated by DHH
- Rated within the top 20 of all Canadian Forces museums in Canada
- Recognized as one of the top military museums in Atlantic Canada